Bookmark and Share
Delaware State Board of Education
John G Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
DoverDE 19901
Phone: 302.735.4010
Fax: 302.739.7768
Delaware State Board of Education
Dr. Teri Quinn Gray President
Mr. Jorge L. Melendez Vice President
Mr. Gregory B Coverdale Jr Board Member
Mr. G. Patrick Heffernan Board Member
Mrs. Nina Lou Bunting Board Member
Mrs. Barbara B Rutt Board Member
Dr. Terry M Whittaker Board Member
Dr. Steven H. Godowsky Executive Secretary
Ms. Donna Johnson Executive Director

About the State Board of Education

The State Board is comprised of seven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate.  While much of the Board’s monthly meeting time is spent performing its statutory responsibilities such as reviewing and approving regulations and applications for charter schools, the Board has defined its purpose and leadership through the adoption of a well thought out and clearly articulated vision and mission as well as long range goals which impact all aspects of public education in our State.

The Board’s regular monthly meetings are open to the public and are usually scheduled for the third Thursday of the month, beginning at 1:00 p.m.  The meetings are normally held in the Cabinet Room on the second floor of the Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

You can reach the State Board of Education office by calling (302) 735-4010 or by email to its Executive Director, Donna Johnson at  <>

State Board of Education Procedures Manual

Wilmington Education Improvement Commission - Proposal

The Wilmington Education Improvement Commission invites formal public comment on the interim redistricting plan beginning on November 17, 2015 and continuing through January 14, 2016. The interim report can be found here:


Public Comment in written or electronic form on the proposed plan received between 11/17/15 and 1/14/16 was compiled and included in the official record for review and consideration by the SBE. All Public Comment received was posted on this page within the WEIC website

List of components of the official record upon which the SBE shall base its decision linked here

Statement from the State Board of Education with regard to action taken on the WEIC Plan - January 21, 2016

Written letter to WEIC from State Board regarding reasons related to their action on 1/21/16 

Response from WEIC on 2/1/16 stating receipt of the State Board letter and next steps 


Letter to WEIC placing their amended plan on the SBE agenda for action 2/18/16 and establishing the re-defined record and process for action item before the Board.

Addendum to Proposal submitted by WEIC to SBE for action at the 2/18/16 SBE meeting

College and Career Ready Standards and Assessment Resources

All Delaware students deserve an education that prepares them to lead full and productive lives in the 21st century. Their success in a competitive world depends on it. Delaware has been a national leader in raising the academic standards for our schools and students. Using high standards and rigorous expectations for students, teachers, and leaders this helps all Delaware students achieve a level of college, career, and civic readiness upon graduation. We can work together to help all students be more prepared for college and careers, so they are ready for the real world.

In the 2014-15 school year Delaware public schools began administering a new state test for English and math subjects in grades 3 to 8 and 11, called Smarter Balanced assessments.  The new tests are based upon the very same standards that our students' classroom lessons are based upon and more closely align with the type of teaching and learning they do each day.  

We have provided a page with several resources that you can use to learn more information about those new tests and the standards they are based upon.  We also will have some informational videos and printable resources that you may review and hopefully share with others.  

Several Delaware groups (DOE, DSEA, PTA, and Rodel) joined together to create this great website  with many of these tools and resources. Additional information and resources are added regularly to make this your first stop on the web to gather additional information to help you better understand these new standards and tests.      


Check out the VIDEO below which will walk you through and explain the Smarter Balanced Test Score Reports

One page overview documents available for download:
What are Smarter Balanced Assessments and Examples of Score reports 

Background of State Standards and Examples of Assessment Questions

Smarter Balanced Assessment Myth vs. Fact 

SBE Research Briefs, Information, Workshops, and Special Events

SBE Workshop - Assessment Transition and Development of new Statewide School Accountability System - January 6th, 2015 - 5:00 - 8:00pm
Workshop Presentation Materials

SBE Workshop - Next Generation Science Standards - Overview of Implementation plans throughout the state, December 1, 2014, 5:00 - 8:00pm 

Webinar offered by State Board of Education Monday, August 4th,  5:00 - 6:30pm
Link to Recording - Link to Slide Deck  
A National Overview of Educator Evaluation Systems and current research around the use of multiple measures in student achievement.
This webinar included an overview of the national landscape as well as recent studies on the use of multiple measures to evaluate student achievement and progress which have been used in educator evaluation systems across the nation.  Specifically, the webinar provided a summary of the educator evaluation systems of 6 states, including Delaware.  The next webinar will highlight two research firms that have been evaluating and building a model for states and districts to use in both building as well as evaluating their educator accountability systems.  Lastly in the early fall we will host another in person workshop featuring a panel discussion and presentation from three states featured in the webinar on August 4th.


SBE Workshop on Educator Evaluation Systems aligned to College and Career Readiness Standards, June 24, 2014, Dover 
(Click on Title above for link to materials from workshop)
Guest Speakers: Chalotte Danielson, A Framework for Teaching; Amy Hammerle, TNTP; Sarah Coon Teaching Excellence Framework, and Lamont Browne, EastSide Charter School


WORKSHOP - CCSS Implementation and SMARTER Balanced Assessment  - February 6, 2014, MLK building at DSU, Dover, DE

(Click on Title above for link to materials from workshop)
Topic: Update on Common Core Implementation and Presentation/Discussion on Shifts in Assessment - Special Guests include: Executive Director of Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium, Joe Willhoft and Secretary of Education Mark Murphy

CTE Perkins Plan Information

Delaware State Plan for Career & Technical Education:
To review and provide comment(s) on the Delaware State Plan for Career & Technical Education (CTE) please review the documents listed below and use the survey tool to submit feedback. Comments will be collected through March 6, 2015.  


As the Eligible Agency and sole agency responsible for the supervision of administration of career and technical education for purposes of the Federal Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act of 2006 (Perkins IV), the Board will take action on approval the State Plan on March 19, 2015.

Current CTE Perkins IV State Plan 2014-15

Previously archived State Board Reports and Publications

Session Timeout Notification

Are you still there? Your session is about to expire

Please press "Continue" to stay active on this page.